MoH’s Hardness Scale

The MoH’s Hardness Scale is a way of measuring the hardness and scratch resistance of a mineral. The MoH’s Hardness Scale ranges from 1-10, 1 being the softest, 10 being the hardest.

Example of MoH’s Hardness Scale:
10 Diamond
9 Corundum
8 Topaz
7 Quartz
6 Granite
5 Apatite
4 Fluorite
3 Calcite/Marble
2 Gypsum
1 Talc

Moh's Hardness Scale
Moh’s Hardness Scale- Image Courtesy of