Hillsborough County

Hillsborough County is a county located in the west-central portion of the U.S. State of Florida. A 2019 estimate has the population of Hillsborough at 1,471,968 people, which itself is greater than the populations of 12 states according to their 2019 population estimates. Hillsborough County is part of the Tampa–St. Petersburg–Clearwater Metropolitan Statistical Area and borders Pasco and Pinellas County. The Florida county has a total area of 1,266 square miles, of which 1,020 square miles are land and 246 square miles (19.4%) is covered by water. Its largest city is Tampa but also includes Apollo Beach, Brandon, Gibsonton, Lithia, Lutz, Odessa, Plant City, Riverview, Ruskin, Seffner, Sun City, Thonotosassa, Valrico, and Wimauma.